Lavender Graduation

19th Annual Lavender Graduation

Friday, May 3th, 2019
Reception: 6:15-6:30 PM
Ceremony: 6:30-8:30 PM

Alumni House (1 Alumni House, Berkeley, CA 94720)

Register Here

About Lavender Graduation

The Gender Equity Resource Center and our partners are excited to invite you to the 18th annual Lavender Graduation Celebration! Lavender Graduation, now in its 19th year, is the UCB end of year celebration honoring UC Berkeley’s lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, non-binary, intersex and queer graduating seniors, graduate students and allies. Everyone is invited to attend and celebrate the end of the academic journey at Cal.

Please fill out the registration form, see below, before  Tuesday, April 30th, 2018 at Noon (or whenever we reach capacity, whichever comes first), to let us know you are attending.  It is particularly important for us to know the number of graduates so we may have a count for the rainbow tassels, your name will not appear on the program if you fill out the registration form after April 30th.  

All graduates and guests must complete the registration form.  Please NO Caps and Gowns. Save those for university and department graduations.

Keynote Speaker: Honey Mahogany, MSW 2009

Photo of Honey Mahogany

A drag queen, business owner, and activist born and raised in San Francisco, Honey first gained international attention as a cast member on Season 5 of RuPaul's Drag Race. Since then, Honey has been named SF's best drag queen & cabaret performer by both the Bay Area Reporter & SF Weekly, and become a sought after emcee across the globe. Honey's more recent endeavors fuze art with the political. Her work has earned her commendations from the San Francisco Board of Supervisors; Sainthood from the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence; awards from the Harvey Milk LGBTQ Democratic Club, the San Francisco Young Democrats, Trans Day of Visibility, and more; as well as earned her a spot on the YBCA 100 list of influencers from across the globe. Honey is a founder of the Compton's Transgender Cultural District, a sitting member of the San Francisco Democratic County Central Committee, co-owner of the Stud - San Francisco's oldest LGBTQ bar - and currently works as a legislative aide to Supervisor Matt Haney.

During her time at UC Berkeley, Honey was a TPA for Unity House Theme Program (2007-2009) and brought back the Drag Show after a long hiatus. She graduated in 2009 with an MSW and a concentration in Management and Planning. She also received the Award for Excellence in Field Work at graduation.


Seeking Undergraduate and Graduate Student Lavender Graduation Speakers:

Undergraduate and Graduate Students are invited to apply for one of the 3 student speaker slots at this year’s LGBTQ+ graduation celebration .

Eligibility: UCB Undergraduate or Graduate Students who will be on the degree list for either spring, summer or fall 2019 or who graduated December 2018.

Application For Student Speakers 

Up to 3 speakers will be chosen with at least one speaker being a graduate student (masters, doctorate, professional degree). The selection of students will be based on their service within the campus or off campus LGBTQ+ communities, and who have a cogent, engaging and inspirational story or message to their fellow graduates. We value a diversity of speakers and Cal LGBTQ+ experiences and thus encourage students from various parts of campus to apply. Please prepare your remarks to be no longer than 5-8 mins.

Each speaker will receive a Cal Rainbow Graduation Stole in addition to the Rainbow Tassel all graduates receive.

Deadline to apply for student speaker is : Wednesday April 17, 2019, 11:59PM

If you have any questions, please contact Billy Curtis at or call (510) 643-0788

Past Keynote Speakers:

  • 2019: Honey Mahogany, Drag Proformer, Activist, founder of the Compton's Transgender Cultural District
  • 2018: John A. Pérez, Chair UC Board of Regents
  • 2017: Xamuel Bañales Ph.D, Assistant Professor of Ethnic Studies, CSU Stanislaus
  • 2016: Alex Randolph (Board of Trustees, City College of San Francisco)
  • 2015: Cara Stanley, M.A. (Director, Student Learning Center, UC Berkeley)
  • 2014: Rafael Mandelman (Board of Trustees, City College of San Francisco)
  • 2013: John A. Pérez (California Speaker of the Assembly)
  • 2012: Judy Appel (Executive Director, Our Family Coalition)
  • 2011: George Zamora (Policy and Program Analyst, Student Affairs, UC Office of the President)
  • 2010: Christopher Cabaldon (Mayor, West Sacramento)
  • 2009: Deb L. Kinney (Lawyer and LGBT Activist)
  • 2008: Christopher Daley (Co-Founder of Transgender Law Center)
  • 2007: Susan Stryker (Author and Filmmaker)
  • 2006: Aleem Raja (Public Defender & SF Pride Parade Grand Marshall)
  • 2005: Bevan Dufty (San Francisco City Supervisor, District 8, 2000-2011)
  • 2003: Jackie Goldberg (California State Assemblywoman, 2000-2006)